The major international competition in football

The major international competition in football is the World Cup, organized by FIFA. This competition takes place every four years. More than 190 national teams compete in qualifying tournaments within the scope of continental confederations for a place in the finals. In the final tournament, which is held every four years, currently involves 32 national teams (increased in 1998 24 was in 1994) competing over a four week period. The 2006 FIFA World Cup held in Germany. In 2010 it was held in South Africa.

In all Olympic Summer Games since 1900 there has been a football tournament, except in 1992 Games in Los Angeles (United States). Before the start of the World Cup, the Olympics (especially during the 20s) had the same status as prestigious soccer. Initially, the event was for amateurs only; however, since the 1984 Summer Olympics participation of professionals allowed, albeit with certain restrictions which prevent countries submit their best players. Currently, the Olympic men’s tournament is played with players U23 (under 23 years). In the past the Olympics have allowed only a limited number of players per age, but this practice will end at the Olympics in 2008. Generally the Olympic tournament has not the same meaning and international prestige to the World Cup. In 1996, a women’s tournament was added. In contrast to the men, the women’s tournament is played without age restrictions, so its international prestige is comparable to the Women’s World Cup FIFA.

After the World Cup, the major sejarah sepak bola tournaments are the continental championships, which are organized by each continental confederation and where national teams participate. These are the European Championship (UEFA), the Copa América (CONMEBOL), African Cup of Nations (CAF), the Asian Cup (AFC), the CONCACAF Gold Cup (CONCACAF) and the OFC Nations Cup (OFC) . Two of the most prestigious club football competitions are the respective continental championships, where the best national teams the UEFA Champions League in Europe and the Copa Libertadores in South America involved, for example. The most prestigious tournament until 2005 was the Intercontinental Cup, playing the winning club of European Champions League and Copa Libertadores winners. This game is only played in Tokyo (Japan) and was held from 1980 to 2004. He was also known as the Toyota Cup. Due to the growing interest of the people of Africa, North America and Asia, this tournament was replaced in 2005 by the World Championship FIFA Club where no single party but a tournament between the winners of the six championships FIFA clubs in each confederation. –Education Center

Post Navigation

Comments are closed.